Dion Atkinson (AUS) drawing lines on a perfect Sunset wall

About the Vans World Cup of Surfing
Vans World Cup of Surfing

About the Vans World Cup of Surfing

Sep 30, 2019

Vans World Cup of Surfing
Event #2 of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing
Sunset Beach, Oahu
November 25 – December 7

  • 4-day event, 12-day holding window.
  • Began in 1975.
  • World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Qualifying Series (QS) 10,000 rated competition.
  • Second event of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.
  • 2019 Vans World Cup event winner: Jack Robinson, Australia
  • Final QS event of year, final determination for Men’s 2019 Championship Tour roster and VTCS Rookie Award.

Event Description: The Vans World Cup makes and breaks careers as the final stop on the international QS tour, since the potential for qualification to the WSL Championship Tour (CT) – the world’s highest level of professional surfing – is at an all-time high. The event’s reputation lies in the wave itself, a consistent and powerful right-hander with a treacherous peak and a paddling arena that tests even the fittest athletes in the industry. One of the most notorious big-wave breaks on the planet, Sunset Beach produces surf from almost any swell direction raging from west to northeast and is a barometer of surfers’ endurance, grit and lineup knowledge.

Situated along the North Shore’s most fragile stretch of coastline, WSL and Vans Triple Crown emphasize great care and attention when mapping the logistical structure of this event. The most sustainably compact footprint of all the Vans Triple Crown venues and also the most visible, the Vans World Cup integrates the full-scope waste management program from build out to tear down. Also incorporating a fun family vibe, Sunset Beach plays host to hundreds of visitors as they witness one of the most dramatic competitions of the year.

World Cup of Surfing Champions

2019 - Jack Robinson, Australia
2018 - Ezekiel Lau, Hawaii
2017 - Conner Coffin, United States
2016 - Jordy Smith, South Africa
2015 - Mick Fanning, Australia
2014 - Michel Bourez, Tahiti
2013 - Ezekiel Lau, Hawaii
2012 - Adam Melling, Australia
2011 - John John Florence, Hawaii
2010 - Raoni Monteiro, Brazil
2009 - Joel Parkinson, Australia
2008 - C.J. Hobgood, USA

2007 - Makuakai Rothman, Hawaii
2006 - Joel Parkinson, Australia
2005 - Jake Patterson, Australia
2004 - Andy Irons, Hawaii
2003 - Jake Patterson, Australia
2002 - Joel Parkinson, Australia

2001 - Myles Padaca, Hawaii
2000 - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii

1999 - Zane Harrison, Australia

1998 - Shane Dorian, Hawaii
1997 - Michael Rommelse, Australia

1996 - Paul Patterson, Australia
1995 - Shane Powell, Australia

1994 - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii

1993 - John Gomes, Hawaii

1992 - Martin Potter, United Kingdom

1991 - Fabio Gouveia, Brazil
1990 - Derek Ho, Hawaii
1989 - Hans Hedemann, Hawaii

1988 - Tom Carroll, Australia

1987 - Gary Elkerton, Australia

1986 - Hans Hedemann, Hawaii
1985 - Michael Ho, Hawaii

1984 - Michael Ho, Hawaii
1983 - Michael Ho, Hawaii
1982 - Tom Carroll, Australia

1981 - Dane Kealoha, Hawaii
1980 - Ian Cairns, Australia
1979 - Mark Richards, Australia

1978 - Buzzy Kerbox, Hawaii
1977 - Shaun Tomson, South Africa
1976 - Ian Cairns, Australia
1975 - Mark Richards, Australia 

Check out our SPOT CHECK on Sunset Beach.

Olamana Eleogram (HAW) on a freight train during the 2017 Vans World Cup

VIDEO / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 04, 2019

Faces of Vans Triple Crown - Michael February

VIDEO / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 02, 2019

Finals Day Post Show: Jack Robinson Dominates Sunset

VIDEO / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 02, 2019

Jack Robinson Wins Vans World Cup, Qualifies for 2020 CT

VIDEO / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 02, 2019

Final Day Highlights - The Robinson Show

VIDEO / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 02, 2019

Finals Day Top 5 Moments: An Incredible Display of Surfing

VIDEO / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 02, 2019

Robinson’s Epic Barrel at the Vans World Cup

PHOTO GALLERY / Vans World Cup of Surfing Dec 02, 2019

Clicks: Vans World Cup of Surfing Final Day

Viewport width =