Australian Joel Parkinson took home the winner’s check in 2018.

About the 2019 Hawaiian Pro
Hawaiian Pro

About the 2019 Hawaiian Pro

Sep 30, 2019

Event #1 of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing
Haleiwa Ali‘i Beach, Oahu
November 13 – 24

  • 4-day event, 13-day holding window.
  • Began in 1985.
  • World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Qualifying Series (QS) 10,000 rated competition.
  • First event of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.
  • 2019 Hawaiian Pro event winner: Frederico Morias (PRT).
  • Local community-centered event.

The opening event of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, the Hawaiian Pro has created a local legacy that sets the bar for competition and initiates the start of peak surf season on Oahu. The break at Haleiwa Ali‘i Beach, simply referred to as ‘Haleiwa’, offers a wide variety of rideable conditions; from 2-foot aerial displays to 20-foot barrel-threading, international athletes are welcomed to the North Shore to compete alongside locals in highly-contestable waves.

One of only five QS 10,000-rated events on the international tour, the Hawaiian Pro has a heavy-weight status with massive points and prize money on offer. Athletes assert their dominance here for an early start on valuable points toward qualification onto the Championship Tour, along with the Vans Triple Crown lead.

With a wide swath of sand for spectators, Haleiwa Ali'i Beach is a family-friendly venue that highlights the cultural and community aspects of the North Shore. Locals and visitors can enjoy the very spot that local pros like 2x World Champion John John Florence, CT competitor Ezekiel Lau and 6x Vans Triple Crown winner Sunny Garcia earned their start in the world of competitive surfing.

Haleiwa (Alii Beach Park)

Hawaiian Pro Champions

2019 - Frederico Morias, Portugal
2018 - Joel Parkinson, Australia
2017 - Filipe Toledo, Brazil
2016 - John Florence, Hawaii
2015 - Wade Carmichael, Australia
2014 - Dusty Payne, Hawaii
2013 - Michel Bourez, Tahiti
2012 - Sebastian Zietz, Hawaii
2011 - Taj Burrow, Australia
2010 - Joel Parkinson, Australia
2009 - Joel Centeio, Hawaii
2008 - Michel Bourez, Tahiti
2007 - Roy Powers, Hawaii
2006 - Andy Irons, Hawaii
2005 - Pancho Sullivan, Hawaii
2004 - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
2003 - Troy Brooks, Australia
2002 - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
2001 - Andy Irons, Hawaii
2000  - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1999  - Conan Hayes, Hawaii
1998 - Kaipo Jaquias, Hawaii
1997 - Tony Ray, Australia
1996 - Kaipo Jaquias, Hawaii
1995 - Richard Lovett, Australia
1994 - Chris Brown, USA
1993 - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1992 - Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1991 - Tom Curren, USA
1990 - Nicky Wood, Australia
1989 - Cheyne Horan, Australia
1988 - Barton Lynch, Australia
1987 - Gary Elkerton, Australia
1986 - Mark Richards, Australia
1985 - Mark Richards, Australia 

“When you’re in the lineup watching sets come from Avalanche and reforming at Hale‘iwa, you’ve got to really take your mind and put it in your pocket when it’s like that. Hale‘iwa is a serious wave when it’s on and it’s big and west. Those are the days when a lot of guys go to Sunset and Pipe. Very few would challenge Hale‘iwa. Rabbit took me down there a few times and it scared the bejesus out of me! It’s a wave to be reckoned with. You’ve got to have everything down pat to be right. It’s got so much rip pulling you out to sea and once you get past the takeoff spot the only way back in is to get annihilated back to shore and start again.” —Gary Elkerton

2017 Champion Filipe Toledo (BRA)

Mr. Kelly Slater taking to the air.  Photo: WSL

2013 Champ Michel Bourez. Photo: WSL/Cestari

Viewport width =