Clean morning conditions with a new WNW swell filling in at Pipe. Photo: WSL / Sloane
Pipe Invitational to Determine Wildcards for Billabong Pipe Masters Today
Billabong Pipe Masters

Pipe Invitational to Determine Wildcards for Billabong Pipe Masters Today

Dec 09, 2019

The Pipe Invitational, the 32-surfer trials event, has been called ON and will determine the two wildcards into the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final stop on the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Championship Tour (CT). The event will start at 8:00 a.m. HST in four-to-six foot (1.2 - 1.8 meter) waves at Pipeline. 

“The new WNW swell has filled in overnight providing clean surf at Pipe and Backdoor from a really good direction,” said WSL Hawaii/Tahiti Nui Competition Director, Marty Thomas. “The swell will slowly build through the day, we are looking forward to an exciting trials competition to kick off the Billabong Pipe Masters.” 

Pipe Invitational to Determine Event Wildcards

Today's draw for the Pipe Invitational is comprised of the top Hawaii competitors from the 2019 Volcom Pipe Pro and the International and Regional QS, event sponsor wildcards, standout Pipe performers, the Vans Triple Crown contender, and the previous year’s Pipe Invitational winner.

The winner and the runner-up of the Pipe Invitational will face either World No. 1 Italo Ferreira (BRA) or World No. 2 Gabriel Medina (BRA) in the opening round of the Billabong Pipe Masters and have the opportunity to play spoiler in the 2019 World Title race. 

As the 11th and final stop of the men’s 2019 CT, the World Title will be decided at this event. There are only five surfers mathematically in contention to win it all: Current World No. 1 Italo Ferreira (BRA), No. 2 Gabriel Medina (BRA), No. 3 Jordy Smith (ZAF), No. 4 Filipe Toledo (BRA), and No. 5 Kolohe Andino (USA). 

Men’s World Title scenarios ahead of the 2019 Billabong Pipe Masters:
- If Italo Ferreira wins Pipe, he clinches the World Title;
- If Ferreira gets a 2nd, Gabriel Medina & Filipe Toledo will need a 1st to take the World Title from Ferreira;
- If Ferreira gets a 3rd, Medina needs a 2nd, Toledo & Smith a 1st;
- If Ferreira gets 5th, Medina needs a 3rd, Toledo a 2nd, Smith a 1st;
- If Ferreira gets 9th, Medina needs a 5th, Toledo a 3rd, Smith a 2nd & Kolohe Andino a 1st; 
- If Ferreira gets 17th/33rd, Medina & Toledo will need a 9th, Smith a 5th & Andino a 2nd

Less than 2,000 points separate the Top 4 going into surfing’s ultimate proving ground. Ferreira (51,070 points) could claim his maiden World Title, but he will need to best his four challengers, including Medina (50,005 points) who is fighting to defend his crown as the two-time reigning World Champion. Smith (49,985 points), Toledo (49,145 points), and Andino (44,665 points) will be on the hunt for both their maiden World Titles but also their first win at the Billabong Pipe Masters. 

Surfline Forecast for the Billabong Pipe Masters

Pipe Invitational Round 1 Matchups:

Heat 1: Jack Robinson (AUS) vs. Tyler Newton (HAW) vs. Eli Hanneman (HAW) vs. Harry Bryant (AUS)
Heat 2: Cody Young (HAW) vs. Imaikalani deVault (HAW) vs. Kainehe Hunt (HAW) vs. Shayden Pacarro (HAW)
Heat 3: Adin Masencamp (ZAF) vs. Keanu Asing (HAW) vs. Brodi Sale (HAW) vs. Kalani David (HAW)
Heat 4: Liam O'Brien (AUS) vs. Finn McGill (HAW) vs. Torrey Meister (HAW) vs. Nathan Florence (HAW)
Heat 5: Ethan Ewing (AUS) vs. Kiron Jabour (HAW) vs. Benji Brand (HAW) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 6: Joshua Moniz (HAW) vs. Eithan Osborne (USA) vs. Koa Smith (HAW) vs. Makuakai Rothman (HAW)
Heat 7: Ian Gentil (HAW) vs. Billy Kemper (HAW) vs. Makai McNamara (HAW) vs. Michael O'Shaughnessy (HAW)
Heat 8: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Justin Becret (FRA) vs. Gavin Gillette (HAW) vs. Jamie O'Brien (HAW)

Billabong Pipe Masters Seeding Round 1 Matchups:

Heat 1: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Conner Coffin (USA), Soli Bailey (AUS)
Heat 2: Kolohe Andino (USA), Griffin Colapinto (USA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Deivid Silva (BRA), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Willian Cardoso (BRA), TBD
Heat 6: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Michael Rodrigues (BRA), TBD
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Jack Freestone (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Heat 8: John John Florence (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Jesse Mendes (BRA)
Heat 9: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Michel Bourez (FRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 11: Julian Wilson (AUS), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 12: Seth Moniz (HAW), Ryan Callinan (AUS), Yago Dora (BRA)