You are viewing last years event website, enter the 2016 website

USA's Griffin Colapinto drops into the first wave of the day. Photo: WSL / Masurel
Pipe Invitational Called On In Massive Surf
Billabong Pipe Masters

Pipe Invitational Called On In Massive Surf

Dec 09, 2015

The Pipe Invitational has been called on this morning, commencing at 8am in massive 10-to-15 foot surf at Pipeline.

“It’s really solid and really clean out there this morning and we’ve called the Pipe Invitational ON for an 8am start,” WSL Commissioner Kieren Perrow said. “Good luck to all our competitors today. We’re looking forward to a great day of competition.”

The $100,000 Pipe Invitational pits 32 specialists against one another as they compete for two wildcards into the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons.

Both wildcards will have the opportunity to play a special role in the main event as they will draw one of six remaining WSL Title contenders in the opening rounds of competition.

Three-time WSL Champion and current Jeep Rankings’ Leader Mick Fanning (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), Owen Wright (AUS) and defending Pipe Master Julian Wilson (AUS) are all in the running for the 2015 WSL Title, which will be decided at the final stop of the 2015 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour, the Billabong Pipe Masters.

Up first this morning will be 2016 WSL CT rookie Jack Freestone (AUS), 2000 WSL Champion Sunny Garcia (HAW), Griffin Colapinto (USA) and Nathan Fletcher (USA) in the opening heat of the Pipe Invitational.

Surfline, Official Forecasters for the World Surf League, are calling for:

Large WNW swell peaks early Wednesday morning, with Pipe expected to be mainly maxed out. However, watch for the surf to gradually become more tame through the day, especially over the afternoon. The swell eases a couple notches for Thursday (but still solid) and shifts more NW’erly in angle. The swell continues to ease over Friday and the weekend. Breezy ENE veering East Trades through Wed/Thurs, then backing off some over Friday and veering ESE. Watching for a possible good size NW swell for around the 15th-17th.


Pipe Invitational Round 1 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Jack Freestone (AUS), Sunny Garcia (HAW), Griffin Colapinto (USA), Nathan Fletcher (USA)
Heat 2: Mason Ho (HAW), Dane Reynolds (USA), Gavin Gillette (HAW), Makai McNamara (HAW)
Heat 3: Ian Walsh (HAW), Joel Centeio (HAW), Kaimana Jaquias (HAW), Mikey Bruneau (HAW)
Heat 4: Jack Robinson (AUS), Kalani David (HAW), Hank Gaskell (HAW), Isaiah Moniz (HAW)
Heat 5: Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Seth Moniz (HAW), Alex Smith (HAW), Nathan Florence (HAW)
Heat 6: Josh Moniz (HAW), Kiron Jabour (HAW), Jamie O’Brien (HAW), Myles Padaca (HAW)
Heat 7: Granger Larsen (HAW), Kaito Kino (HAW), Kekoa Cazimero (HAW), Evan Valiere (HAW)
Heat 8: Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Billy Kemper (HAW), Olamana Eleogram (HAW), Luke Shepardson (HAW)

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 1 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW), TBD
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), TBD
Heat 5: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), TBD
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), TBD
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA), Taj Burrow (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 12: Josh Kerr (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA)

Congratulations to the new WSL Champ, Adriano de Souza

Final Day Highlights - Adriano Takes it All

Gabriel Medina Wins the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Final Day Photos

De Souza’s World Title Winning Interview

Mick Fanning’s Last Minute Quarterfinal Wave

Adriano de Souza wins 2015 WSL World Title

Viewport width =