You are viewing last years event website, enter the 2016 website

Pipe specialist Jamie O'Brien. Image: WSL / Cestari
Lay Day Called for Pipe Invitational - Possible Start Tomorrow
Billabong Pipe Masters

Lay Day Called for Pipe Invitational - Possible Start Tomorrow

Dec 08, 2015

With small surf trickling into the world-famous Banzai Pipeline this morning, event organizers have called the Pipe Invitational off for the day. The $100,000 Pipe Invitational will see 32 specialists compete for two wildcards into the final event of the 2015 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour season, the Billabong Pipe Masters in Honor of Andy Irons, once competition commences.

Whoever advances through today’s Pipe Invitational will have a special role to play in the main event as they will draw one of six remaining WSL Title contenders in the opening rounds of competition. 

Three-time WSL Champion and current Jeep Rankings Leader Mick Fanning (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), Owen Wright (AUS) and defending Pipe Master Julian Wilson (AUS) are all in the running for the 2015 WSL Title and will be showcased LIVE this morning in a special press conference on the WSL Dawn Patrol show.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning to reassess conditions.

Watch Dawn Patrol

When competition commences, up first will be 2016 WSL CT rookie Jack Freestone (AUS), 2000 WSL Champion Sunny Garcia (HAW), Griffin Colapinto (USA) and Nathan Fletcher (USA) in the opening heat of the Pipe Invitational.

Surfline, Official Forecasters for the World Surf League, are calling for:

A new/strong WNW swell will build over Tuesday (mainly over the PM) into Wednesday - strongest Tuesday night/early Wednesday with Pipe becoming maxed out by Wednesday morning. Moderate East-ENE Trades for Tuesday, becoming quite breezy through Wed/Thurs, then decreasing some over Friday and into the weekend while veering ESE. Surf eases some for Thursday, but still solid and with Pipe handling it better. Fading surf over Fri/Sat. Possible new bumps of NW swells for Sunday the 13th and then around the 15th-17th.


Pipe Invitational Match-Ups

Heat 1: Jack Freestone (AUS), Sunny Garcia (HAW), Griffin Colapinto (USA), Nathan Fletcher (USA)
Heat 2: Mason Ho (HAW), Dane Reynolds (USA), Gavin Gillette (HAW), Makai McNamara (HAW)
Heat 3: Ian Walsh (HAW), Joel Centeio (HAW), Kaimana Jaquias (HAW), Mikey Bruneau (HAW)
Heat 4: Jack Robinson (AUS), Kalani David (HAW), Hank Gaskell (HAW), Isaiah Moniz (HAW)
Heat 5: Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Seth Moniz (HAW), Alex Smith (HAW), Nathan Florence (HAW)
Heat 6: Josh Moniz (HAW), Kiron Jabour (HAW), Jamie O’Brien (HAW), Myles Padaca (HAW)
Heat 7: Granger Larsen (HAW), Kaito Kino (HAW), Kekoa Cazimero (HAW), Evan Valiere (HAW)
Heat 8: Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Billy Kemper (HAW), Olamana Eleogram (HAW), Luke Shepardson (HAW)

Round 1 Match-Ups

Congratulations to the new WSL Champ, Adriano de Souza

Final Day Highlights - Adriano Takes it All

Gabriel Medina Wins the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Final Day Photos

De Souza’s World Title Winning Interview

Mick Fanning’s Last Minute Quarterfinal Wave

Adriano de Souza wins 2015 WSL World Title

Viewport width =