You are viewing last years event website, enter the 2016 website

Gabe Medina and his new trophy. Photo: WSL / Kirstin
Gabriel Medina Wins the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing
Billabong Pipe Masters

Gabriel Medina Wins the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Dec 17, 2015

It was history in the making at Pipeline today as Gabriel Medina became the first Brazilian surfer to ever win the coveted Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title.

Claiming Runner-up status at the Billabong Pipe Masters for the second, consecutive year, Gabriel Medina achieved a phenomenal comeback after a tough start to 2015. Turning his season around at the Billabong Pro Tahiti with a Runner-Up finish, the defending WSL Champion stood proud hoisting his well-deserved trophy.

“I’m really stoked to be the first Brazilian to win a Triple Crown - it was actually my goal coming to Hawaii,” Medina said. “This year has been difficult for me when I lost the first four events and everyone said I wouldn’t have a shot at the World Title. I’m so thankful to come here and be a part of the World Title race. I’m so happy to make the Final, it was a tough heat against Mick and I got the score I needed in the last minute and I couldn’t ask for anything better. I’m so excited for Adriano to win his first World Title and Pipe Master - I know he’s been dreaming for ages and he did everything he could.”

Medina's Semifinal Winning Air

Final Ratings

1 - Gabriel Medina - 18,400 points
2 - Mick Fanning - 16,700 points
3 - John John Florence - 12,800 points
4 - Adriano de Souza - 12,200 points
5 - Wade Carmichael - 11,676 points

Complete Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Ratings

Congratulations to the new WSL Champ, Adriano de Souza

Final Day Highlights - Adriano Takes it All

Gabriel Medina Wins the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Final Day Photos

De Souza’s World Title Winning Interview

Mick Fanning’s Last Minute Quarterfinal Wave

Adriano de Souza wins 2015 WSL World Title

Viewport width =