You are viewing last years event website, enter the 2016 website

Kelly Slater will face current Jeep Rankings' Leader Mick Fanning in the Quarters today. Photo: WSL / Kirstin
Billabong Pipe Masters Final Day Called ON, World Title Decided Today
Billabong Pipe Masters

Billabong Pipe Masters Final Day Called ON, World Title Decided Today

Dec 17, 2015

The final day of the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons has been called ON this morning with the world’s best surfers tackling four-to-six foot (1.5 - 2 metre) waves at the world-renowned Banzai Pipeline.

“Great swell still on tap at Pipeline and we’re calling competition ON for the final time this season,” WSL Commissioner Kieren Perrow said. “We’ll commence at 8am and run all the way through the Finals. Good luck to all our remaining competitors today.”

The final stop on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour as well as the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, the Billabong Pipe Masters will determine the 2015 WSL Champion, the 2016 elite tour qualifying class and the Vans Triple Crown winner.

Yesterday’s phenomenal action saw the title contenders whittled from five to three with the eliminations of Filipe Toledo (BRA) and Julian Wilson (AUS). Three-time WSL Champion Mick Fanning (AUS), Adriano de Souza (BRA) and reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA) all remain in contention.

Up first this morning will be Josh Kerr (AUS) against Jeremy Flores (FRA) in the final heat of Round 5.

Congratulations to the new WSL Champ, Adriano de Souza

Final Day Highlights - Adriano Takes it All

Gabriel Medina Wins the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Final Day Photos

De Souza’s World Title Winning Interview

Mick Fanning’s Last Minute Quarterfinal Wave

Adriano de Souza wins 2015 WSL World Title

Viewport width =