Vans Triple Crown Of Surfing

Reef Hawaiian Pro

Vans World Cup Of Surfing

Billabong Pipe Masters

Kelly Wins Billabong Pipe Masters. John John Wins VTCS
Event is:
Billabong surfer Greg Long's big wave exploits earned him a spot on National Geographic's annual list of Adventurers of the Year. Photo by Bryan Cole.
Billabong Pipe Masters

Billabong Big Wave Surfer Greg Long Among National Geographic’s Adventurers of the Year


IRVINE, CA - (November 15, 2013) - National Geographic has released their annual list of Adventurers of the Year and it includes Billabong Team surfer Greg Long, whose near death experience last December and amazing return to form this year sent shockwaves through the big wave community. Fellow honorees include prominent mountain climbers, swimmers, skiers and kayakers, and adventure fans are being asked by Nat Geo to vote in their favorite for the People's Choice Award. Long's story can be read by clicking HERE, and votes may be cast for the San Clemente, California, native by clicking on this VOTING PAGE LINK.
Long, a six-time winner at the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards, was surfing a massive swell at the Cortes Bank (100 miles off the California coast) with an elite crew on December 21, 2012, when he suffered a multi-wave hold-down and blacked out underwater. Long, 30, was rescued and revived by fellow surfers, stabilized and airlifted from the deck of their support ship by a US Coast Guard helicopter and transported to a hospital in San Diego where he was treated and released the following day.

Greg Long rides a massive wave at the Cortes Bank on December 21, 2012. Long nearly drowned later in the day on another wave at the legendary surf spot 100 miles off the California coast. Click the image above to cast your vote for Greg. Photo by Frank Quirarte/

Despite the physical and mental trauma, Long soon resumed his quest for big wave performance, placing in the finals of the Mavericks Invitational just a month after the accident. Long quickly thereafter emerged as the Big Wave World Tour points winner in March, and in May took the Surfline Best Overall Performance Award at the Billabong XXLs for the third time in his amazing career.
Viewers may vote daily for the Adventurer of the Year throughout the Nat Geo polling period that runs untilJanuary 31, 2014. Past Adventurer of the Year honorees include BASE jumper Felix Baumgartner, surf legend Kelly Slater and astronaut John Grunsfeld.

Vans Triple Crown of Surfing / 1388740740

Surfing Magazines 2013 Triple Crown Of Surfing Flipbook

Billabong Pipe Masters / 1387084200

Kelly Slater Wins Billabong Pipe Masters Over Vans Triple Crown Winner John John Florence

Billabong Pipe Masters / 1387066380

Mick Fanning Claims 2013 ASP World Title

Billabong Pipe Masters / 1387051860


Billabong Pipe Masters / 1386971340

Behind the Hawaiian Title Fight

Billabong Pipe Masters / 1386958260

Holding Pattern Continues, Final Day Expected Tomorrow

Billabong Pipe Masters / 1386872220

Second Consecutive Lay Day for Billabong Pipe Masters

Billabong Pipe Masters / 1386800760

Shooting Star

Vans Triple Crown of Surfing / 1386797640

Triplegram #5