Hawaii's Torrey Meister pulling into a Sunset bomb during last year's Vans World Cup. Photo: WSL / Heff
Vans World Cup Essentials
Vans World Cup of Surfing

Vans World Cup Essentials

Nov 21, 2018

By Sean Martin

The Vans World Cup at Sunset Beach is fast approaching with an event window of Nov 25 - Dec 6. Santa Barbara native Conner Coffin will be looking to reclaim his victory from last year, possibly becoming the only mainland American to win the event twice. Also listed in the heat draw for this year are former event champs Jordy Smith and Michel Bourez.

2017 Finals: Griffin Colapinto vs. Wade Carmichael vs. Conner Coffin vs. Kolohe Andino

Retiring Tour veteran Joel Parkinson however is currently ahead in the VTCS Rankings. Being only one of five surfers to have previously won all three jewels and coming off a win at the Hawaiian Pro where he went head-to-head in the final with 17 year old Mateus Herdy (BRA), he has momentum behind him.

Reflecting on his recent win, Parkinson remarked, "Actually I really enjoyed the event. That's the key for me at this stage in my career ... to enjoy it." With this level of experience, talent and comfort, he will be a force to be reckoned with.

Australian surf legend Joel Parkinson. Parko is currenlty embarking on his swan song tour. WSL / KELLY CESTARI

Australia (18 wins) and Hawaii (17 wins) have historically dominated the World Cup followed by America (2 wins), South Africa (2 wins), Brazil (2 wins), Tahiti (1 win) and the UK (1 win). Parkinson and the surfer from Hawaii Michael Ho are tied for the championship record (3 wins each).

Sunset beach is located on the North Shore of Oahu. Sunset's enormous rock reef faces to the northwest and contains at least six distinct wave sections. With a vast wave field and shifting peaks, surfers have to constantly paddle in order to get into a take-off position. A classic ride at Sunset can carry a surfer through four or five distinct stages as they move across the reef.

Sunset Beach Lineup WSL / TONY HEFF

Hazards abound at Sunset. The Kammieland Rip can pull surfers into the impact zone during big swells. Strong trade winds blow northeasterly creating side-shore flow conditions. The waves themselves can change drastically depending on the combination of swell direction, size and period.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surf is the longest running contest series in surfing's history. First organized in 1983 by former surf champion Fred Hemmings, the VTCS will be entering it's 35th year.

Vans World Cup Champions

2017 Conner Coffin | USA 
2016 Jordy Smith | ZAF 
2015 Mick Fanning | AUS 
2014 Michel Bourez | PYF 
2013 Ezekiel Lau | HAW 
2012 Adam Melling | AUS 
2011 John John Florence | HAW 
2010 Raoni Monteiro | BRA 
2009 Joel Parkinson | AUS 
2008 C.J. Hobgood | USA 
2007 Makuakai Rothman | HAW 
2006 Joel Parkinson | AUS 
2005 Jake Paterson | AUS 
2004 Andy Irons | HAW 
2003 Jake Paterson | AUS 
2002 Joel Parkinson | AUS 
2001 Myles Padaca | HAW 
2000 Sunny Garcia | HAW 
1999 Zane Harrison | AUS 
1998 Shane Dorian | HAW 
1997 Michael Rommelse | AUS 
1996 Paul Paterson | AUS 
1995 Shane Powell | AUS 
1994 Sunny Garcia | HAW 
1993 John Gomes | HAW 
1992 Martin Potter | UK 
1991 Fabio Gouveia | BRA 
1990 Derek Ho | HAW 
1989 Hans Hedemann | HAW 
1988 Tom Carroll | AUS 
1987 Gary Elkerton | AUS 
1986 Hans Hedemann | HAW 
1985 Michael Ho | HAW 
1984 Michael Ho | HAW 
1983 Michael Ho | HAW 
1982 Tom Carroll | AUS 
1981 Dane Kealoha | HAW 
1980 Ian Cairns | AUS 
1979 Mark Richards | AUS 
1978 Buzzy Kerbox | HAW 
1977 Shaun Tomson | ZAF 
1976 Ian Cairns | AUS 
1975 Mark Richards | AUS

Final Day Highlights - Sunset Glory

Final Day Photos

Vans Duct Tape Festival - Dec. 7th @ Ala Moana Bowls

TripleGram V.04 - Feel the Aloha

Faces of Triple Crown - Dane Gudauskas

Day 3 Highlights - Do or Die

Day 3 Photos

TripleGram V.03 - Break After the Madness

Viewport width =