Cleaner conditions at Pipe today. Photo: WSL / Cestari
Round 1 of Billabong Pipe Masters Called ON
Billabong Pipe Masters

Round 1 of Billabong Pipe Masters Called ON

Dec 13, 2018

The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final stop on the 2018 World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Championship Tour (CT), has been called ON with 4-to-6 foot NW swell on hand at Pipe. Round 1 will start at 8:00 a.m. HST with the Women’s Pipe Invitational on hold for a potential start today. 

“We are on with Round 1 at 8:00 a.m. local time,” said Renato Hickel, WSL Deputy Commissioner. “We will run 30-minute heats today in the four-to-six foot conditions at Pipe. We have also put the Women’s Pipe Invitational on standby to possibly run today.”

The Billabong Pipe Masters will cap off the season to determine the 2018 Men’s World Champion and the winner of the prestigious Vans Triple Crown of the Surfing (VTCS). Three athletes remain in contention to claim the World Title: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Julian Wilson (AUS), and Filipe Toledo (BRA). 

The Men's World Title Scenarios going into the last event of the season, the Billabong Pipe Masters in Hawaii, are as follows:

  • If Gabriel Medina finishes 1st or 2nd at the Billabong Pipe Masters, he wins the World Title;
  • If Gabriel Medina finishes 3rd at the Billabong Pipe Masters, Julian Wilson and Filipe Toledo will need to finish 1st;
  • If Gabriel Medina finishes 5th-25th, Julian Wilson and Filipe Toledo will need a 2nd or 1st at Pipe.

More information about the 2018 World Title Showdown at the Billabong Pipe Masters. 

Yesterday's Pipe Invitational opened the competition and decided the two event wildcards: Ryan Callinan (AUS) and Benji Brand (HAW). 

Round 1 Heat 6 will see World No. 1 Gabriel Medina (BRA) against Connor O’Leary (AUS) and Brand. 

Callinan will be in Heat 7 against 2018 rookies Wade Carmichael (AUS) and Griffin Colapinto (USA). 

Up first this morning will be 11-time WSL Champion Kelly Slater (USA) against Jordy Smith (ZAF) and Federico Morais (PRT). 

Women's Pipe Invitational on Standby for Today
The Women’s Pipe Invitational is on hold for today and could potentially run after the men's Round 1. Four athletes will compete in a single-heat Final for the prestigious win, including seven-time WSL Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS),  three-time WSL Champion Carissa Moore (HAW), Coco Ho (HAW) and Alessa Quizon (HAW). 

Viewport width =