Ehukai Beach Park. Photo: Dias
No Competition Today at the Billabong Pipe Masters
Billabong Pipe Masters

No Competition Today at the Billabong Pipe Masters

Dec 15, 2017

Competition has been called OFF today at the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final stop on the 2017 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) and the third event of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing (VTCS). With strong, onshore winds and a decreased swell on offer at Banzai Pipeline, event officials have decided to pause competition for another day to wait for improved conditions. 

"We will be off again today at the Billabong Pipe Masters," said WSL Deputy Commissioner, Renato Hickel. "Unfortunately, we have another super windy day and the swell has actually dropped in size with strong onshore winds, as well. We will come back tomorrow morning to make the next call."

Event organizers will reconvene at 7:30 a.m. HST tomorrow to reassess the conditions and make the next call. 

Day 1 Highlights

2012 Pipe Master Joel Parkinson (AUS) will be one to watch in Round 1 as he comes up against 2017 CT rookies Connor O’Leary (AUS) and Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA). 

When competition resumes, three-time WSL Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) will face 2017 CT Rookie Frederico Morais (PRT) and Italo Ferreira (BRA) in Round 1 Heat 12. 

Sebastian Zietz (HAW) will go up against  Adrian Buchan (AUS) and Ian Gouveia (BRA) in Round 1 Heat 10 of the Billabong Pipe Masters. 

Surfline, official forecaster for the Billabong Pipe Masters, are calling for:

Fading, but still good size, NW swell prevails on Friday, as strong, sideshore NE trades also continue. Much smaller NNW swell is expected Saturday with lighter and more variable wind (although leftover bump in the morning). A mid-size, new NW swell is on track to build Sunday, with a peak Sunday afternoon through Monday morning and light to moderate southerly wind. A final NNW swell looks progressively likely for Tue-Wed, although wind may trend onshore again.


Billabong Pipe Masters Remaining Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 10: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 11: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT), Italo Ferreira (BRA)

Final Day Highlights - Buzzer Beater and Trophies!

Medina Slides His Way Into an 9.07!

Faces of the Vans Triple Crown - Pt. 7!

Julian Wilson’s Almost Perfect 9.73!

Final Day Photos!

Flores 8.70 Deep Backdoor Runner!

Viewport width =