You are viewing the 2016 website, click to view the 2017 website
Conditions are slowly improving at Pipeline. Photo: Dias
No Competition Today at Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons
Billabong Pipe Masters

No Competition Today at Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons

Dec 17, 2016

Strong winds continue at Banzai Pipeline causing event officials to call another lay day at the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final stop on the 2016 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT).

“It was looking really promising,” said WSL Commissioner Kieren Perrow. “We went on hold and had that wind really start to shift around more to the south and it was blowing offshore for a while. In the last half hour, the wind has switched around and is coming out of the west now. It is creating a lot of chop and is not great right now. We are not going to run any heats. We are going to go off and come back tomorrow. We are expecting really good surf for the next two-to-three days, so we are excited.”

Event organizers will reconvene at 7:30 a.m. (local time) tomorrow to reassess conditions and make the next call.

When competition resumes, Round 2 will witness all surfers battle to avoid an early elimination from the event, including individuals on the bubble whose last opportunity for requalification depends on their performance at Pipe.

Keanu Asing (HAW) is right on the cut line for requalification for the 2017 CT. He will face rookie Kanoa Igarashi (USA) in Heat 12. The young Hawaiian will have to pull out all the stops in order to keep his place on the elite tour. Igarashi will battle to avoid an early exit and to strengthen his Rookie of the Year campaign.

With this season’s extremely competitive Rookie of the Year race, the rookies will have the chance to make their case at Pipe. Round 2 will see multiple head-to-head rookie match-ups, including Conner Coffin (USA) against Jack Freestone (AUS) in Heat 9, and Caio Ibelli (BRA) facing Ryan Callinan (AUS) in Heat 6.

Round 2 Heat 2 will see defending Pipe Master Adriano de Souza (BRA) against former Pipe Master Bruce Irons (HAW).

Frederico Morais (PRT), current leader of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing and qualifier for the 2017 CT, will face Sebastian Zietz (HAW) in Heat 4.  

Up first will be Kolohe Andino (USA) against wildcard Gavin Beschen (HAW) in the opening heat of Round 2 when competition resumes.



Final Day Highlights

Road to the Final - Michel vs. Kanoa

Igarashi Takes Down Slater With Buzzer-Beater Barrel

Kanoa Igarashi Seals Zeke Lau’s Elite Tour Destiny

Kanoa Igarashi Plays Hero to Hawaiians

Bourez Shuts the Door on Florence

Nat Young Fights for His Job in Perfect Pipeline

Viewport width =